North Carolina AG opposes Texas election lawsuit

North Carolina Attorney General Josh Stein (Source: Facebook)
North Carolina Attorney General Josh Stein (Source: Facebook)
Updated: Dec. 10, 2020 at 6:54 PM EST
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

RALEIGH, N.C. (WBTV) - North Carolina Attorney General Josh Stein on Thursday said he opposes the election complaint Texas has brought before the U.S. Supreme Court.

Texas Attorney General Ken Paxton (R) filed the lawsuit, saying election results in Pennsylvania, Georgia, Wisconsin, and Michigan are unlawful. Read the complaint HERE. The Supreme Court has called for a response to the complaint by Thursday afternoon.

On Tuesday, the Supreme Court rejected a request by U.S. Rep. Mike Kelly (R-Pennsylvania) to reverse Pennsylvania’s certification of President-elect Joe Biden.

Attorney General Josh Stein released the following statement after filing an amicus brief in the U.S. Supreme Court to oppose Texas’ elections lawsuit.

“Today, I joined 22 other attorneys general in filing a brief with the United States Supreme Court opposing Texas’ radical, anti-democratic lawsuit. This suit seeks to overturn the will of the people by throwing out the votes of tens of millions of Americans. Court after court has determined that its factual allegations are false. The complaint asks the Supreme Court to simply ignore the voters in several states and order legislators in those states to replace the voters’ choice with their own. This represents a profound and outrageous rejection of democracy with no precedent in our nation’s history. It would also violate some of our nation’s most basic constitutional principles, including federalism and respect for state law. It frankly saddens me that our amicus brief is even necessary, but know that I will do whatever is necessary to protect people’s right to vote,” Stein said.

Meanwhile, South Carolina Attorney General Alan Wilson is urging the Supreme Court to take up election cases.

Attorney General Stein is joined in filing the opposition brief by the Attorneys General of California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Guam, Hawaii, Illinois, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Minnesota, Nevada, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, Oregon, Rhode Island, Vermont, Virginia, U.S. Virgin Islands, Washington, and the District of Columbia.

A copy of the brief is available here.

Copyright 2020 WBTV. All rights reserved.