Toyota drivetrains: Your quick guide

Explore the four main types of Toyota drivetrains with Toyota of N Charlotte.

Toyota drivetrains: Your quick guide
Toyota Tacoma in N Charlotte (Source: Toyota of N Charlotte)


When you’re shopping for a new car, you likely have a list of things you want it to include. Some people want fuel efficiency, some people want the latest and greatest technology, some people want interior space – everyone has drive time needs, and you want to ensure that your new car is going to meet them before you sign the dotted line.

You need to consider the drivetrain type when you shop for a car

Even though your list is probably pretty long, there’s one more thing that our N Charlotte Toyota dealership recommends adding – Toyota drivetrain type. Not sure what a drivetrain is or why it’s important to consider when buying a new car? Check out our handy guide below!

The four main types of Toyota drivetrains

There are four main types of Toyota drivetrains and you’ll find all of them at Toyota of N Charlotte. Here’s the breakdown:

Front-wheel drive: Front-wheel drive or FWD is definitely the most common type of Toyota drivetrain. This particular configuration delivers power from the engine to the front two wheels so they can pull the car as well as steer it. It’s the most fuel-efficient of all the drivetrains, and you’ll find it on best-sellers like our N Charlotte Toyota Camry and Toyota Corolla.

Rear-wheel drive: Rear-wheel drive or RWD is the opposite of front-wheel drive. In this type of Toyota drivetrain, the engine delivers power to the rear wheels instead of the front wheels. This gives the vehicle a little more get-up-and-go when it comes to power and acceleration, which is a desirable trait for sports cars and trucks. That’s why you’ll find it on cars like the new Toyota Supra and the Toyota Tundra.

All-wheel drive: All-wheel drive or AWD is exactly what it sounds like. The engine delivers power to all four wheels, so each one plays a part in moving the car forward. AWD is becoming increasingly popular because it enhances both safety and performance – if one of your wheels loses traction while you’re driving on a slick surface, the other three wheels are still moving the car and giving you control over where it’s headed. This feature is also always engaged (meaning drivers usually don’t have the option to turn it off). It’s becoming more common and you’ll find it as an option on vehicles like the N Charlotte Toyota Sienna.

Four-wheel drive: Four-wheel drive or 4WD is similar to all-wheel drive. All four wheels are used to power the vehicle in this type of Toyota drivetrain. However, four-wheel drive delivers power to each axle via a transfer case (not found on an AWD car) and often, drivers can have the option to turn the feature off. Additionally, 4WD is much better suited for off-road terrain than AWD. That’s why you’ll often find it on N Charlotte Toyotas like the Toyota Tacoma and Toyota 4Runner.

Still unsure as to which Toyota drivetrain is going to best meet all of your drive time needs? Let us help you figure it out! Toyota of N Charlotte is open seven days a week at 13429 Statesville Road, just off I-77 at exit 23 in Huntersville. We can get you behind the wheel of any of our new Toyotas today!

Copyright 2019 WBTV. All rights reserved.