LIST: Local school districts closed May 1 in reaction to NC teacher rally

LIST: Local school districts closed May 1 in reaction to NC teacher rally
North Carolina teachers gather in Raleigh to protest for higher wages in 2018.

CHARLOTTE, NC (WBTV) - Thousands of teachers in North Carolina requested time off as they plan to gather in Raleigh for a teachers rally Wednesday.

Educators are planning to march to the General Assembly and hold a rally, calling for legislators to heed their five legislative priorities. On Wednesday, buses will arrive at the headquarters of the North Carolina Association of Educators in Raleigh around 8:30 a.m. The march will start at 10:30 a.m. and the rally will begin at the Halifax Mall at 12:30 p.m. Regional legislative meetings will begin at 1:30 p.m. and the event will end around 2:30 p.m.

Because of the amount of teachers who have requested off, several local school districts are faced with decisions on whether or not to have class that day.

Charlotte-Mecklenburg Schools students will not have school Wednesday as CMS Superintendent Clayton Wilcox has designated the day an optional teacher workday.

Superintendent Wilcox, who made this decision in collaboration with the Charlotte-Mecklenburg Board of Education, has waived attendance requirements on May 1 for all CMS students. No make-up day is needed or will be scheduled.

Kannapolis City Schools, Hickory Public Schools and Cabarrus County Schools have also announced they will not have class for students May 1.

Here’s the full list of schools that have already announced plans to cancel class for students:

  • Cabarrus County School District
  • Charlotte-Mecklenburg Schools
  • Hickory Public Schools
  • Iredell-Statesville Schools
  • Kannapolis City Schools
  • Mooresville Graded School District

Iredell-Statesville Schools had 200+ teachers request off for the May 1st teacher’s rally. After holding an emergency meeting to discuss their plan, the district decided to physically close schools on May 1 and instead hold a virtual school day for students and an optional teacher work day.

Union, Gaston and Rowan-Salisbury Schools are are still having classes for students May 1.

“End of grade testing is coming,” said Rowan-Salisbury Schools Spokesperson Rita Foil. “We’d like to see our students and staff have a strong ending to the year.”

Here’s the list of school districts in the WBTV viewing area that are still having class on May 1:

  • Avery County School District
  • Alexander County School District
  • Caldwell County School District
  • Catawba County Schools
  • Cleveland County Schools
  • Gaston County Schools
  • Lincoln County Schools
  • Rowan-Salisbury Schools
  • Stanly County Schools
  • Watauga County Schools

WBTV has contacted Ashe, Anson, and Burke County Schools but did not receive an official decision on their plans for May 1.

Chester County Schools in South Carolina canceled class on May 1.

Copyright 2019 WBTV. All rights reserved.