Filing for NC-09 over with 10 Republican candidates, McCready sole Democrat

Updated: Mar. 15, 2019 at 12:29 PM EDT
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

CHARLOTTE, NC (WBTV) - Friday is the last day for candidates to file in the North Carolina’s new 9th Congressional District election.

Ten Republicans entered the race. Dan McCready is the sole Democrat. The election comes after the State Board of Elections voted unanimously in favor of a new election after a hearing on election fraud and absentee ballot tampering in Bladen County.

Here’s the list of current candidates. Republicans are listed in order of how they will appear on the primary ballot.

  • Dan McCready (D)
  • Stevie Rivenbark Hull (R)
  • Matthew Ridenhour (R)
  • Stony Rushing (R)
  • Fern Shubert (R)
  • Albert Lee Whitley Jr (R)
  • Chris Anglin (R)
  • Dan Bishop (R)
  • Leigh Thomas Brown (R)
  • Kathie C Day (R)
  • Gary Dunn (R)
  • Allen Smith (GRE)
  • Jeff Scott (LIB)

While the election takes place the US House of Representative Office of the Clerk announced it will provide constituency services for people living in the 9th Congressional District.

WBTV obtained a copy of an internal memo confirming the move. The memo says that while there is no Congressional member is representing the district the congressional office will operate under control of the clerk and provide constituent services.

Right now it’s unclear if that means local offices will open or just the Washington DC office.

Copyright 2019 WBTV. All rights reserved.