Multiple schools issue closings, delays due to freezing rain

Watauga County Schools on 2-hour delay Thursday

WATAUGA COUNTY, NC (WBTV) - Multiple school closings and delays in North Carolina were announced Thursday due to inclement weather.

A Winter Storm Watch is in effect for the North Carolina mountains and foothills Wednesday night through early Thursday afternoon. Ice accumulations may exceed ½” in some areas which would cause widespread power outages.

The Watauga County School district made the decision around 5 p.m. Wednesday to operate on a two-hour delay Thursday.

Alleghany County school will operate on a two-hour delay. Ashe and Mitchell County schools will be closed on Thursday due to inclement weather.

Mayland Community College will operate on a two-hour delay.

A Winter Storm Warning is in effect for the mountains with a Winter Weather Advisory for the northern foothills. Both run through 1 p.m. Thursday. With the colder air expected there – upper 20s in the mountains, near 32° in the northern foothills - a set-up for sleet and freezing rain will develop – again, in the mountains - Wednesday night, lingering into Thursday morning.

Avery County Schools dismissed early Wednesday due to inclement weather. Newland Elementary dismissed at 1:30 p.m and all other schools dismissed at 2 p.m., the district says. The district made the dismissal announcement on their website around 11 a.m.

Due to Inclement weather coming in this afternoon, Avery County Schools will dismiss at 1:30 for Newland Elementary and 2:00 pm for all other schools.
Avery County Schools

Other school districts in the area could announce closures and delays in the coming days as the Winter Storm Watch takes effect.

Visit for a full updated list of all closures and delays in our area. Stay updated with severe weather alerts in your area by downloading the WBTV Weather App.

Copyright 2018 WBTV. All rights reserved.