Multiple area schools cancel class Thursday ahead of more inclement weather

Multiple area schools cancel class Thursday ahead of more inclement weather

CHARLOTTE, NC (WBTV) - Multiple schools announced they will be closed Thursday due to inclement weather.

Charlotte-Mecklenburg Schools will be closed on Thursday, Jan. 18. All evening events on Thursday are being canceled and all athletic activities and Community Use of School events also are being canceled.

Charlotte Catholic High School, Clover Schools, Fort Mill Schools, Rock Hill Schools, Alexander County Schools, Burke County Schools, Ashe County Schools, York Schools, Union County Schools, Iredell County Schools, Hickory Public Schools, McDowell County Schools, Cabarrus County Schools, Caldwell County Schools, Gaston County Schools, Anson County Schools, Alleghany County Schools, Avery County Schools, Kannapolis City Schools, Catawba County Schools, Clover Schools, Watauga County Schools, Lancaster County Schools, Lincoln County Schools, Chester County Schools, Mooresville City Schools, and Newton Conover Schools will also be closed Thursday as black ice and hazardous road conditions remain a concern.

Central Piedmont Community College, Catawba College, Johnson C. Smith University, the University of North Carolina at Charlotte and Winthrop University also announced they will be closed for students Thursday.

Rowan-Salisbury Schools will be closed for students and staff Thursday. RSS says high school students should follow their exam schedule.

Click here to view a list of all closings and delays.

Many of the same schools were closed Wednesday due to snowfall and freezing temperatures.

Copyright 2018 WBTV. All rights reserved.