Rowan Chamber's 'Leadership Rowan' 25th class selected - | WBTV Charlotte

Rowan Chamber's 'Leadership Rowan' 25th class selected

A Leadership Rowan class touring The Salisbury Post (Source: Rowan Chamber) A Leadership Rowan class touring The Salisbury Post (Source: Rowan Chamber)

From the Rowan Chamber: The Rowan County Chamber of Commerce has selected the 25th Anniversary Class of Leadership Rowan. All Leadership Alumni are invited to the 25th Anniversary Celebration after the Class Retreat.

Since 1992, Leadership Rowan has ensured that the community’s most influential and esteemed leaders are knowledgeable about issues, well-networked and passionate about the success of the community.

These talented leaders will spend ten months going on exclusive tours and having hands-on experiences, all with area leaders who take on our community’s biggest challenges every day. Armed with new knowledge, connections and perspectives, Leadership Rowan graduates are prepared to take their places as effective community leaders.

“We are extremely proud of the 25 year history and success of Leadership Rowan with over 550 graduates of the program. Leadership graduates serve in a number of key roles in our community,” said Dustin Wilson (Chick-fil-A), Steering Committee Chairman.

The Leadership Rowan 25th Anniversary Class will begin in August 2017 and run through May 2018.

The official 29 members of the 2017-18 class are:  Amy-Lynn Albertson (Rowan County Government/Ag Extension); Matt Beam (Trinity Oaks); Josh Bergeron (Salisbury Post); Mark Brown (North Carolina Transportation Museum); Nanette Buehrer (Rufty Holmes Senior Center); Jonathan Chamberlain (Rowan-Cabarrus Community College); Rod Crider (RowanWorks); Melanie Denton Dombrowski (Salisbury Eyecare and Eyewear); Laura Emery (Carolinas HealthCare Systems, NE); Julie Freeze (Prevent Child Abuse Rowan); Heather “Timbs” Fulghum (Carolinas HealthCare Systems, NE); Dottie Gettinger (Dotties’ Home for Children & Elderly); Rodney Harrison (City of Salisbury); Ronda Jennings (BB&T); Tajuan Kyles (Corporate Headquarters of the AME Zion Church); Chris Lane (Southern Power); Erik Lipscomb (Global Contact Services); Libby Losey (Rowan Helping Ministries); Jeanie McDowell (Rowan-Salisbury School System); Betsy Mowery (North Carolina Transportation Museum); Crystal Reed (Brookdale Salisbury); Candace Salmon-Hosey (Rowan-Salisbury School System); Shane Short (Southern Power); Melissa Shue (Prevent Child Abuse Rowan); Sharon Singleton-Sewell, (Novant Health-Winston Salem); Jerry Stokes (Salisbury Police Department); Kristen Trexler (Novant Health Foundation); Amy Vestal (Partners in Learning Child Development Center); and, Dale Wooten (Duke Energy).

Class members will go on a two-day retreat August 17-18 where they will participate in a Simulated Society (SimSoc) exercise and get acquainted with other class members.  After the retreat, participants will attend a full-day session each month September through May to enhance their leadership skills and knowledge of Rowan County.

The Leadership Rowan 25th Anniversary Celebration will be held on Tuesday, August 22, 5:30 p.m., at FireWater Restaurant (127 S. Avalon Dr.). There will be a mini-SimSoc game, 25-year timeline of our community, networking, dancing and refreshments. Members of the Charter Class will be recognized and the Class with the highest percentage of attendance.  

This event is designed as a fund raiser for the Leadership Rowan program. Sponsorship funds will go toward scholarships for people who would otherwise not be able to participate in Leadership Rowan. 

Leadership Rowan Alumni dues are $35 (includes one ticket to the 25th Anniversary event). Alumni are welcome to bring a guest for an additional $20. Dress is semi-formal or business professional.

Members of the Leadership Rowan Steering Committee are: Dustin Wilson (Chick-fil-A); Kelly Baker (City of Salisbury); Wendy Brindle (City of Salisbury); Alisha Byrd (Gemstones Academy & Compass); Bob Cartner (Chandler Concrete); Danelle Cutting, (Rowan County Government/Ag Extension); Shawn Edman (Novant Health Rowan Medical Center); Deborah Johnson (Livingstone College); Nick Means (F&M Bank); Amy Smith (Rowan County Government); and, Janet Spriggs (Rowan-Cabarrus Community College).

For more information or to RSVP for the 25th Anniversary Celebration, contact Charlene Deese at the Chamber at (704) 633-4221 or

Copyright 2017 WBTV.  All rights reserved.

Powered by Frankly