DAVIDSON BASKETBALL: Gibbs One of 20 Candidates for 2017 Cousy A - | WBTV Charlotte

DAVIDSON BASKETBALL: Gibbs One of 20 Candidates for 2017 Cousy Award

Gibbs Named Bob Cousy Award Candidate

DAVIDSON, N.C. – The Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame announced Monday that Davidson’s Jack Gibbs is one of 20 candidates for the 2017 Bob Cousy Award, which is given annually to the top point guard in Division I men’s college basketball.

A national committee comprised of top college basketball personnel determined the watch list of 20 candidates.

The nation's sixth leading scorer at 23.5 points per game in 2015-16, Gibbs scored 40 points in a game three times, 35 or more seven times and hit the 30-point mark 10 mark times.

Named A-10 Player of the Week a league-best five times this past season, Gibbs also ranked among league leaders in scoring, assists, steals, 3-point field goals per game and free-throw percentage.

In addition to earning all-conference and district honors, Gibbs was named to the Naismith Trophy 50-man early-season watch list, while twice earning National Player of the Week honors – USBWA Oscar Robertson National Player of the Week (1/19/16); Lute Olson Player of the Week (1/12/16).

Gibbs is the first Wildcat named to the list since Jason Richards (2008) and Stephen Curry (2009) were recognized in consecutive years.

By mid-February, the watch list of 20 players for the 2017 Bob Cousy Point Guard of the Year Award will be narrowed to just 10. In March, five finalists will be presented to Mr. Cousy and the Hall of Fame’s selection committee.  The winner of the 2017 Bob Cousy Award will be presented at the ESPN College Basketball Awards Show in Los Angeles, CA on Friday, April 7, 2017. Broadcast information will be released at a later date.

Previous winners of the Bob Cousy Award include Tyler Ulis, Kentucky (2016), Delon Wright, Utah (2015), Shabazz Napier, Connecticut (2014), Trey Burke, Michigan (2013), Kendall Marshall, North Carolina (2012), Kemba Walker, Connecticut (2011), Greivis Vasquez, Maryland (2010), Ty Lawson, North Carolina (2009), DJ Augustin, Texas (2008), Acie Law, Texas A & M (2007), Dee Brown, Illinois (2006), Raymond Felton, North Carolina (2005) and Jameer Nelson, St. Joseph’s (2004).

For more information on the 2017 Bob Cousy Point Guard of the Year Award presented by College of the Holy Cross, log onto www.CousyAward.com.


Joey Beeler

Sports Information Director

Davidson College

Office: 704.894.2217

Powered by Frankly