Chief Chavis of Kannapolis makes appeal on behalf of officers bi - | WBTV Charlotte

Chief Chavis of Kannapolis makes appeal on behalf of officers biking to DC

KANNAPOLIS, NC (WBTV) -

Kannapolis Police Chief Woody Chavis is making an appeal on behalf of a group of KPD officers planning to bike to Washington, DC, in May, in honor of a fellow officer who was killed in the line of duty in 1993.

Here is the letter sent to WBTV by Chief Chavis:

On May 9, 2015, officers from the Kannapolis Police Department will join fellow officers from across the state for the 2015 Law Enforcement Bicycle Ride to DC. Over the course of 4 days, they will ride their bicycles 500 miles from Charlotte, NC to Washington, DC to honor officers who have given their lives in the line of duty. You can find details about the ride atwww.biketodc.com.

Members of Kannapolis Police Department will be riding in honor of Officer Roger Dale Carter from Kannapolis, whom we lost in the line of duty on December 31, 1993.

This trip will not be easy. There is very little flat ground between Charlotte and Washington, DC, so the cycling itself will be grueling. Whatever the weather, in order to cycle 140 miles or more each day, they will ride from dawn to dusk.

Their most urgent need right now is for financial support for lodging and food during the ride. We know that changes in the economy have made it a challenge for many to give. But from experience, we also know the incredible generosity and support of the citizens we serve.

They are conducting an Easter BBQ fund raiser on April 3, 2015. Lieutenant Daniel Wallace and Lieutenant Bryan Ritchie will be cooking Boston Butts. They are selling the Boston Butts for $40. They will be ready for pick-up on April 4, 2015 at 8:00 am in Midway at the First Baptist Church picnic shelters. The location is accessed off Martin Circle. If you are interested in supporting this effort and would like to purchase a Boston Butt please contact one of the officers listed below. Each officer will need to raise approximately $500.

Bryan Ritchie – 704-956-9055 or britchie@kannapolisnc.gov

Mike Carothers – 704-791-5608 or mcarothers@kannapolisnc.gov

Jamie Livengood – 704-791-0769 or jlivengood@kannapolisnc.gov

Daniel Beaver – 704-920-4117 or dbeaver@kannapolisnc.gov

Trey Hinton – 704-920-4022 or thinton@kannapolisnc.gov

Steve Belk – 704-791-3889 or sbelk@kannapolisnc.gov

Any support you can give these officers would be greatly appreciated. Honoring our fallen brothers during National Police Week is very important to us. Please help these officers make this trip in honor of Kannapolis Police Officer Roger Carter who was murdered during an ambush on December 31, 1993. Thank you.

Woody Chavis

Chief of Police

Powered by Frankly