Davidson joins the Atlantic 10 - | WBTV Charlotte

Davidson joins the Atlantic 10


July 1, 2014 will mark a new day for athletics at Davidson.  On that day, the college will join the Atlantic 10 Conference.

19 of Davidson's 21 sports programs will play in the new conference.  The football program will remain in the Pioneer Football League and the wrestling program will look to continue to compete in the Southern Conference. 

Davidson will sever ties with the Southern Conference to join the A-10.  The Wildcats first joined the SoCon back in 1936.

This is a big move for Davidson as the A-10 has a more national appeal with teams in Philadelphia, Washington D.C., St. Louis, and New York.

It will be a step up in competition for the men's basketball program but could be very rewarding when it comes NCAA tournament time.  The Southern Conference has always been a one bid league with that being the winner of the conference tournament.  This past season, the A-10 put 5 teams into the tournament.

The A-10 is going thru a transition as well with realignment as well as they will lose Charlotte, Butler, Xavier, and Temple this year.

When the Wildcats join the league in 2014, the A-10 will be comprised of Dayton, Duquesne, Fordham, George Mason, George Washington, LaSalle, UMass, Rhode Island, Richmond, St. Bonaventure, St. Joseph's, St. Louis, and Virginia Commonwealth.


Copyright 2013 WBTV. All rights reserved.

Powered by Frankly