Two area students named finalists for the Google Doodle, need yo - | WBTV Charlotte

Two area students named finalists for the Google Doodle, need your vote

Aryaman J., Granite Quarry Elementary School Aryaman J., Granite Quarry Elementary School
Noel Heil, Fort Mill Middle School Noel Heil, Fort Mill Middle School

A Fort Mill student and one from Granite Quarry are one step closer to having their art put on the Google homepage for hundreds of millions to see.

Google announced on Wednesday the 50 state winners in its sixth annual Doodle 4 Google competition, a contest open to K-12 students across the Unites States to redesign the Google logo inspired by the theme "My Best Day Ever..."

Noel Heil, a 13-year-old 7th grader from Fort Mill Middle School, is the South Carolina state winner selected from more than 130,000 students who submitted entries this year.

Noel entitled her doodle, "By the Lake in Spring."

Aryaman J, a student at Granite Quarry Elementary School, is the North Carolina winner. 

Aryaman's doodle is of the day his little sister was born.

All 50 state winners will have their doodle displayed in a special exhibit at the American Museum of Natural History in New York from May 22 - July 14.
Starting Wednesday, the public will be able to vote for their favorite doodle from the 50 state winners and help select five national finalists (one per grade group).  Voting will be open from May 1 to May 10 on this site: The public vote will determine the five national finalists, one in each grade group.
Google will then announce the five national finalists and one of them as the national winner on May 22 at an awards ceremony at its New York City office, which all 50 state winners will be invited to. The winning student's doodle will be displayed on the Google homepage on May 23 and will receive a $30,000 college scholarship and a $50,000 technology grant for his/her school.
We'd like to thank our guest judges, who helped Google employees narrow the submissions down to the 50 state winners. This year's guest judges include Katie Couric, Brian Henson, and Chris Sanders.

Copyright 2013 WBTV. All rights reserved.

Powered by Frankly