Students step into shoe competition - WBTV 3 News, Weather, Sports, and Traffic for Charlotte, NC

Students step into shoe competition

Posted: Updated:

Four South Mecklenburg High School students worked extremely hard on four shoe designs.

"When you look it you know it's Charlotte," said junior Sofia Carpenter.

"You've got the banking center, you have the Queen City."

These art students have put their own creative twist on classic kicks.

"I had that intense very shaggy haired musician and wrapped the whole guitar around the shoe," said 11th grader Ana Montesdeoca.

"Here I have a kind of mechanical design with a bike chain and gears," added Dan Mangano.

"I used the Mona Lisa from Leonardo da Vinci and drew her kind of hard edge," said Hannah Whitner.

Their four designs have made it to the semi-finals of a national shoe design competition sponsored by Vans.

"Our task was to come up with a unifying theme and fit four categories which are music, art, action sports, and local flavor," said art teacher Ellen Estes.

"We really like the new wave of kind of like the hipster culture and incorporated some of our techniques that the teachers have been teaching us here," said Ana.

Beating out 49 other schools across the country not only means bragging rights but winning also means big money for the school's art program.

"It can transform our art program," said Mrs. Estes.

"$50 thousand dollars can definitely transform our art program."

"Now it's just this final step we just have to get people to vote for us and support us and then up to that it's all up to Vans," said Sofia.

Along with the cash the students also have the chance to have their designs produced & sold at retailers in 2014.

Lake Norman Charter School in Huntersville and Northside Christian are also finalist in the competition.

If the school wins its region, members of the team will travel to NY to compete in the finals.

The four runner up schools will also receive money for their art programs.

Voting is open to the public.

You can vote until 11 PM on May 13th.

The public can vote for their favorite pair.

Copyright 2013 WBTV. All rights reserved.

Powered by WorldNow