Blumenthal announces nominees for the 2013 Blumey Awards - | WBTV Charlotte

Blumenthal announces nominees for the 2013 Blumey Awards


Blumenthal Performing Arts has announced the 84 nominees – six each in 14 categories - competing in the 2nd annual Blumey Awards on Sunday, May 19, in the Belk Theater. 

The Blumey Awards program recognizes and celebrates the best in high school musical theater and fosters even greater achievements in the future. 

Maureen O'Boyle, anchor for WBTV, is emceeing the black-tie event.  

WEB EXTRA: Click here for full list of nominees

Winners will be announced at The Blumey Awards Ceremony on May 19, at 7:00 p.m., in the Belk Theater. 

Like the Tony Awards, The Blumey Awards Ceremony will also feature live performances by the six finalists for Wells Fargo Best Musical:  Central Academy of Technology and Arts, Young Frankenstein; Charlotte Christian School, Oklahoma!; Charlotte Latin School, Les Miserables; Covenant Day School, Beauty and the Beast; Myers Park High School, Once Upon a Mattress; Northwest School of the Arts, Footloose.

"We're proud of the remarkable creative talent in our community," says Blumenthal Performing Arts President Tom Gabbard.  "The launch of The Blumey Awards in 2012 was an opportunity for us as a community to celebrate and encourage the budding talent of high school artists, as well as the faculty and staff who work behind the scenes to mount school musicals. Following up a successful inaugural celebration, we are excited to continue this annual tradition."

Award presenters include several local media personalities, community leaders and acclaimed performing arts professionals.  

David Dabbon, a New York-based music director, conductor, orchestrator and composer, will direct the awards ceremony and lead an orchestra of local professional musicians that will accompany the competing schools on May 19.  He has conducted shows and concerts throughout the country.  Most recently, he provided additional orchestrations for the Tony® and Grammy®-nominated Broadway musical, Sondheim on Sondheim.  Dabbon has served as assisting arranger/orchestrator for The Gene Kelly Awards and most recently, the National High School Music Theatre Awards.

"[The Blumey Awards] is very much like planning a wedding, lots and lots of preparation for a one night event that will hold so many memories," Dabbon said.  "The regional High School Musical Theater Awards often have the same format as the Oscars and Tony Awards®.  Lots of surprises, songs, dancing, awards and scholarships."

Additionally, The Blumey Awards Ceremony will feature a medley of performances by the six finalists for Best Actor and for Best Actress; and two students from each production will be featured in opening and closing production numbers. Linda Booth, a professional choreographer will choreograph these musical numbers. She has her BFA in dance performance from UNC-Greensboro.  She is passionate about musical theater, and has choreographed over 100 productions in regional and educational theatre.  Recent credits include Hairspray, Chicago, 25th Annual Putnam County Spelling Bee, The Drowsy Chaperone and Charlotte Squawks.

Along with The Blumey Awards themselves, The Doctor Family Foundation will award a $10,000 annually renewable scholarship to two student participants in The Blumey Awards.  This year, The Mary Doctor Performing Arts Scholarship will be awarded to John Pope, Marvin Ridge High School in Union County, and Zeinab Caskey, Nation Ford High School in York County. A special scholarship committee chose these winners. The scholarship recipients will be awarded the scholarships live on May 19 during The Blumey Awards Ceremony.

Blumenthal Performing Arts will again participate in the National High School Musical Theater Awards. The national show and ceremony takes place in New York on July 1, 2013. The two students named Best Actor and Best Actress at The Blumey Awards will receive an all-expenses-paid trip and weeklong stay in New York City where they will train and compete with other regional winners in a national competition known as The Jimmy Awards (named after famed Broadway producer, James M. Nederlander). 

Eleven student critics are also participating in the inaugural Student Critic Program in association with the 2nd Annual Blumey Awards presented by Wells Fargo.  The Student Critic Program is launched as a part of The Blumey Awards with support from The Charlotte Observer. Of these eleven Student Critics, one will be awarded "The Charlotte Observer Student Critic Award" at The Blumey Awards, chosen by the editors at The Charlotte Observer.

"Wells Fargo was the inaugural corporate underwriter for this performing arts program last year," said Jay Everette, Community Affairs Manager for Wells Fargo. "The Blumeys are all about showcasing the amazing talent of students in our region. It's a ‘Glee meets the Tony's at the intersection of Fame' kind of evening.  We are thrilled to be part of the presentation again in 2013."

The Blumey Award nominee selections are based upon the recommendations of a panel of four judges who have viewed and evaluated each participating school's musical, and awarded points according to detailed guidelines. The six highest scoring nominees in each of 14 categories are the finalists.

"Congratulations to each of this year's talented nominees," says Gabbard.  "We are excited for Charlotte audiences to witness the tremendous work our high school musical theater programs deliver, and for these talented students to perform on the very same stage that our touring Broadway shows perform on."

The Blumey Awards is produced by Blumenthal Performing Arts' Education Department and is presented by Wells Fargo.  US Airways, The Doctor Family Foundation and The Leon Levine Foundation provide additional support. Charlotte joins more than 30 other cities, including Pittsburgh, Houston and Atlanta, in hosting annual high school musical theater awards programs.   

The schools competing include: Ardrey Kell, Butler, Cannon, Carolina Youth Choral Players, Central Academy of Technology and Arts, Central Cabarrus, Charlotte Catholic, Charlotte Christian, Charlotte Latin, Covenant Day, Cox Mill, Cuthbertson, East Gaston, Gaston Day, Independence, Jay M. Robinson, Kings Mountain, Lincolnton, Marvin Ridge, Mount Pleasant, Myers Park, Nation Ford, North Gaston, North Lincoln, Northwest Cabarrus, Northwest School of the Arts, Northwestern, Providence, Rocky River, South Mecklenburg, South Point and Weddington.

For more information:

Powered by Frankly