NRCC targets McIntyre for 2014 - | WBTV Charlotte

UPDATE: NRCC puts McIntyre in "Red Zone" for 2014

Rep. Mike McIntyre is being targeted again by the NRCC for being "vulnerable" in 2014 Rep. Mike McIntyre is being targeted again by the NRCC for being "vulnerable" in 2014

WASHINGTON, DC (WECT) -The National Republican Congressional Committee is once again targeting Congressman Mike McIntyre, who is serving his ninth term in the U.S. House of Representatives serving the 7th District of North Carolina.

In an email release, the NRCC announced McIntyre is in it's "Red Zone", consisting of "the most vulnerable Democratic members in the country". The email continues saying the NRCC's Red Zone is being led by "head coach, Annie Kelly—Red Zone Regional Political Director".

McIntyre won a ninth term after defeating former state Senator David Rouzer in a close election in 2012. After recounts McIntyre was declared the winner by less than two thousand votes, out of more than 330,000 cast. It was the closest margin of any Congressional race in the 2012 General Election, and the closest race of McIntyre's career since winning the seat in 1996.

"These members are out-of-touch with the districts they represent and it's time they're held accountable," NRCC Communications Director Andrea Bozek said in the release. "We came very close last cycle to defeating them, falling just a few yards short. We will continue to stay on offense in 2014 and make sure these districts are represented by members who will support the same playbook to strengthen the middle class and create jobs that their constituents do."

Click here to read more on the group.

"Last fall's election is over, and it is time to work together to create jobs and take care of the needs of our area," said a statement from the Mike McIntyre for Congress Campaign. "People are sick of the negativism and distortions that this Washington political group promotes.  Congressman McIntyre will continue to do the job he was elected to do and is grateful for the Republicans, Democrats, and Independents who worked together to support him."

McIntyre was mentioned in January as one of 40 Democratic members of Congress "targeted for attention" by the NRCC in 2014. 

In an email sent to media, the NRCC included a "memo" from its Executive Director, Liesl Hickey, which identifies McIntyre's 7th District as one that "got even better for Republicans last year".  

According to, the NRCC spent $1.9M in the 2012 race between McIntyre and Rouzer, $1.6M of it against the Democratic incumbent. 

The "memo" mentioned in the email continues by saying "Republicans will continue the offensive strategy that again led to success in 2012." 

The following is a copy of the NRCC "memo" sent to the media: 



DATE: JANUARY 16, 2013


Steve Israel said it again. And again. And again. And again. The Democrats' goal of the 2012 cycle was to win control of the House. They failed miserably.

Nonetheless, Democrats remain in decisive control of Washington – having won both the White House and the Senate. That leaves House Republicans as the only stop-gap against the Democrats' big-government, big-spending policies.              

Today, the GOP enjoys the second-largest Republican majority in the House since World War II, and that majority is built on a solid foundation. In contrast, the Democrats' hopes of winning in 2014 continue to rest on quicksand. 

In 2014, Republicans will employ the same proven strategy that brought us such historic success in 2010 and 2012: Stay on offense.

Last year, Democrats found their resources and energy drained by involvement in races they never anticipated. Rather than just defend our majority, Republicans sought out new opportunities and ran races in every region of the country – including making the Democrats spend money in deep-blue territory. 

As a result of redistricting, which favored Republicans, and this well-executed strategy – the House is well-aligned and firmly in GOP control. 


The national map of competitive House races looks very different headed into 2014. Namely, it's smaller and Republicans have the upper-hand. 

Nationally, Romney won 227 congressional districts to Obama's 208. 

A total of 31 congressional districts across the country that voted for Obama in 2008, flipped back to Romney in 2012. 

Even more troubling for Democrats: 15 of their members are in Republican-leaning districts, while only four Republicans are in Democrat-leaning districts. 


The NRCC is focused on an extensive list of more than 40 potential targets that stretch from coast to coast (See full list of targeted districts at the end of this memo).

Our efforts will begin with seven districts that are currently held by Democrats that have voted Republican in all three of the last presidential elections. There does not exist a similar set of deep blue districts held by Republicans for Democrats to target. 

In fact, in five of these districts, the presidential number got even better for Republicans last year – and in the other two, the result was virtually unchanged. 

The districts: Ron Barber (AZ-02), John Barrow (GA-12), Ann Kirkpatrick (AZ-01), Jim Matheson (UT-04), Mike McIntyre (NC-07), Collin Peterson (MN-07) and Nick Rahall (WV-03). 

These Democrats all share something in common: They do not fit their districts – just as Ben Chandler and Mark Critz didn't fit their districts. It's no wonder why Rahall has already signaled an interest in a long-shot bid for the state's U.S. Senate seat: He knows he faces a daunting re-election bid. 

The NRCC will amplify its efforts to educate voters about these mismatches and provide strong alternatives. If the Democrats lose these districts, they are likely to be lost for a generation.  The districts like Kentucky's 6th (Rep. Andy Barr) and Pennsylvania's 12th (Rep. Keith Rothfus) that Democrats lost their hold on in 2012 will continue to slip away in 2014.   

Of course, we aren't going to stop there. Our efforts begin in these districts; they do not end here.   


Republicans will continue the offensive strategy that again led to success in 2012, to keep Nancy Pelosi from ever being Speaker of the House again. New opportunities for Democrats are limited, and their current caucus is already built on shaky ground. 


 •         Ann Kirkpatrick (AZ-01)

•         Ron Barber (AZ-02)

•         Kyrsten Sinema (AZ-09)

•         John Garamendi (CA-03)

•         Ami Bera (CA-07)

•         Jim Costa (CA-16)

•         Lois Capps (CA-24)

•         Julia Brownley (CA-26)

•         Raul Ruiz (CA-36)

•         Scott Peters (CA-52)

•         Jim Himes (CT-04)

•         Elizabeth Esty (CT-05)

•         Alan Grayson (FL-09)

•         Patrick Murphy (FL-18)

•         Lois Frankel (FL-22)

•         Joe Garcia (FL-26)

•         John Barrow (GA-12)

•         Brad Schneider (IL-10)

•         Bill Foster (IL-11)

•         Bill Enyart (IL-12)

•         Cheri Bustos (IL-17)

•         Bruce Braley (IA-01)

•         Dave Loebsack (IA-02)

•         John Tierney (MA-06)

•         Bill Keating (MA-09)

•         Tim Walz (MN-01)

•         Collin Peterson (MN-07)

•         Rick Nolan (MN-08)

•         Steven Horsford (NV-04)

•         Carol Shea-Porter (NH-01)

•         Ann McLane Kuster (NH-02)

•         Mike McIntyre (NC-07)

•         Tim Bishop (NY-01)

•         Steve Israel (NY-03)

•         Carolyn McCarthy (NY-04)

•         Sean Patrick Maloney (NY-18)

•         Bill Owens (NY-21)

•         Dan Maffei (NY-24)

•         Louise Slaughter (NY-25)

•         Peter DeFazio (OR-04)

•         Kurt Schrader (OR-05)

•         Pete Gallego (TX-23)

•         Jim Matheson (UT-04)

•         Suzan DelBene (WA-01)

•         Nick Rahall (WV-03)

Copyright 2013 WECT. All rights reserved.

Powered by Frankly