McCrory Inaugural Parade to feature local participants - WBTV 3 News, Weather, Sports, and Traffic for Charlotte, NC

McCrory Inaugural Parade to feature local participants

Posted: Updated:

Wednesday, Governor Pat McCrory, in conjunction with the Committee on Inaugural Ceremonies, released the participants in the 2013 Inaugural parade.

This year's parade, being held on Saturday, January 12, in downtown Raleigh, will include participants from around the state, including some from the WBTV viewing area.

Some participants will be marching bands from Catawba College, Appalachian State, and South Caldwell High School. The Pace Car from the Charlotte Motor Speedway and the Cabarrus County Visitor' Center Race Car, the Wells Fargo Stage Coach, and a Charlotte Fire Department Fire Truck will also be in the parade.

"The Inaugural parade is a celebrated tradition in North Carolina," said Governor McCrory. "I look forward to welcoming all the parade participants to Raleigh for an Inaugural celebration focused on our state, its people and the bright future we will all create together."

The Inaugural parade will take place on Saturday, January 12, at 12:30 p.m. following the Inaugural Ceremony and the Inaugural Address.

The parade will start at the intersection of Fayetteville Street and Davie Street, travel north on Fayetteville Street until turning right onto Hargett Street, then traveling north on Wilmington Street. The parade route ends at the intersection of Wilmington Street and E. Lane Street.

Attendance and parking for the Inaugural ceremony and parade are free and open to the public.

Copyright 2013 WBTV. All rights reserved.

Powered by WorldNow