CMS selects new leadership - WBTV 3 News, Weather, Sports, and Traffic for Charlotte, NC

CMS selects new leadership

Posted: Updated:

CHARLOTTE, NC (WBTV) - At its Tuesday night board meeting the Charlotte - Mecklenburg school board voted on new leadership.  Below is press release the school district sent concerning a changing of the guard.

Mary T. McCray, a former CMS teacher and teacher-association official, was elected unanimously to serve as chair of the Charlotte-Mecklenburg Board of Education at its Dec. 11 meeting. Timothy S. Morgan, who represented District 6 before successfully running for an at-large seat, was unanimously elected vice-chair.

McCray, who served as vice-chair in 2012, replaces at-large representative Ericka Ellis-Stewart, who declined a nomination for vice-chair. Before the election, Superintendent Heath E. Morrison thanked Ellis-Stewart for her service as chair.

"I'd like to thank Ericka Ellis-Stewart for her leadership," Dr. Morrison said. Noting that he had been hired while she led the Board last year, he said, "I appreciate very much her support for me in her role as chair."

McCray was elected to the Board as an at-large member in November 2011. She worked in education for 34 years, 24 of them in Charlotte-Mecklenburg Schools. After a decade of teaching elementary school in Union County, she moved to Charlotte and taught at Collinswood, Morehead, Piney Grove and Endhaven elementary schools, as well as Community House Middle. McCray has also been active in local, state and national teacher organizations and was the first full-time president of the Charlotte-Mecklenburg Association of Educators. She is a native of High Point, NC, and graduated from North Carolina A&T State University. Her three children attended CMS schools and one is now a CMS teacher.

Tim Morgan, the new vice-chair, was first elected to the Board of Education in 2009 to represent District 6. In 2011, he was elected to an at-large seat. Morgan, a graduate of Independence High School, has lived in Charlotte since 1971 and has nearly two decades of experience in public affairs. He earned a bachelor's degree from Appalachian State University and a master's degree in public education from UNC-Chapel Hill. Previously, Morgan served on the Citizens Capital Budget Advisory Committee and the School Building Solutions Committee.

McCray and Morgan will serve one year in their new roles.

Powered by WorldNow