McIntyre claims 75% of mayors in Eastern NC endorse him - | WBTV Charlotte

McIntyre claims 75% of mayors in Eastern NC endorse him

Rep. Mike McIntyre claims 75% of mayors in Eastern NC endorse his campaign Rep. Mike McIntyre claims 75% of mayors in Eastern NC endorse his campaign

WILMINGTON, NC (WECT) – Rep. Mike McIntyre's campaign released a list of mayors in eastern North Carolina who support his campaign for re-election. According to an email, McIntyre's campaign says 75% of the mayors in the 7th District are publicly supporting the Congressman.

WECT has found one mistake in the original list. Mayor Harry Simmons of Caswell Beach is listed as a Republican. Simmons told us this afternoon he is a registered Democrat. A McIntyre campaign spokesman says that they have corrected what they called a "typo".

The email also says the list, which is seen below, excludes mayors in Johnston and Sampson counties. Those endorsements will be announced at a news conference on Wednesday.

Mayors Endorsing Mike McIntyre 10/08/2012

Bladen County:

Bladenboro—Livingstone Lewis (D)
Clarkton—Arthur Whedbee (R)
Dublin—Horace Wyatt (R)
East Arcadia—Willie A. Dixon (D)
Elizabethtown—Sylvia Campbell (D)
Tarheel—Ray Dew (D)
Whitelake—Goldston Womble (D)

Brunswick Co. 

Bald Head Island—Andy Sayre (U)
Bolivia—Dewey Smith (D)
Calabash—Mary Knight (D)
Carolina Shores—Walter Goodenough (R)
Caswell Beach—Harry Simmons (D) (*corrected from original list)
Holden Beach—Alan Holden (D)
Leland—Brenda Bozeman (U)
Navassa—Eulis Willis (D)
Northwest—James A. Knox (D)
Ocean Isle Beach—Debbie Smith (U)
Shallotte—Sara MCullough (D)
Southport—Robert Howard (D)
Varnamtown—Judy Galloway (D)


Columbus County:

Brunswick—Nancy Hill (D)
Boardman—Randy Paul Williamson (D)
Bolton—Frank Wilson (D)
Cerro Gordo—David White (D)
Chadbourn—Ken Waddell (D)
Fair Bluff—Randy Britt (D)
Lake Waccamaw—Ivan Wilson (D)
Sandyfield—Gary Keaton (D)
Tabor City—Royce Harper (D)
Whiteville—Terry Mann (D)


Cumberland County:

Stedman—Billy Horne (D)


Duplin County: 

Beaulaville—Kenneth Smith (D)
Calypso—JoAnn Wilson (D)
Faison—Elmer Flake (D)
Kenansville—Betty Long (D)
Magnolia--Gwendolyn Vann (D)
Rose Hill—Clarence Brown St. (D)
Teachey—Lois McCartney (R)
Wallace—Charles Farrior (D)
Warsaw—Winford Batten (D)


HOKE County:

Raeford—John K. McNeil (D)


Lenoir County:

La Grange—Mayor Woodard Gurley (D)
Pink Hill—Carol Sykes (D)


New Hanover County: 

Carolina Beach—Ray Rothrock (R)
Wilmington—Bill Saffo (D)
Wrightsville Beach – David Cignotti (D)



Topsail Beach—Howard Braxton (D)
Surf City—Zander Guy (D)

Robeson Co: 

Lumber Bridge—William Skip Davis (D)
Maxton—Sallie McLean (D)
Parkton—Larry Hagin (D)
Red Springs—John M. McNeil (D)
St. Pauls—Gordon Westbrook (D)

McIntyre is running against state Senator David Rouzer in his bid for a ninth term in Congress.

Rouzer's campaign issued a statement this afternoon in response to Mcintyre's claim. "David has the endorsement of all the NC Senators who represent counties in the 7th District, as well as endorsements from Mrs. Dorothy Helms and former Senators Elizabeth Dole and Lauch Faircloth," Jessica Wood, a spokesperson for the Rouzer campaign said in an email.  "Voters in the 7th District will ultimately decide which candidate is better prepared to represent them in Congress, and we believe this November voters will reject Congressman McIntyre and his 16 years of ineffective leadership in Washington and elect David Rouzer to represent them instead."

Click here to read more updates in the WECT Political Notebook.

Copyright 2012 WECT. All rights reserved.

Powered by Frankly